Special Pots   5 comments

I have started this catagory to highlight some pots I have picked up that are unusual and not seen often. Many of them I have never seen before and look handmade or actually maybe by a classroom of newly budding clay artists. I mean really…how many ashtrays can one man own? At some time all these pots will be on the pots page, but for now I thought highlighting some of the unusul ones might be fun.

This pot is special to me just becuase of the finish and the color not to mention the shape. I picked it up from Sharon Muth of Bonsai Northwest God knows how many years ago. I know I bought it at the shohin seminar becuase that is the only time I see her down this far.

The pot is 8 x 6 x 1.75 inches. The color is a greenish grey and the clay is silky smooth. It seems burnished in Yixing ware tradition and the edges are sharp. I am not sure about the hanko. It looks Japanese but the pot has Chinese touches. The design on the feet are traditional Chinese in design. As you look at the picture of the weak chop, and you know who this might be, drop me a comment. I would love to know the potter.

001

002

003

 

This small pot was one of the first Bigei pots I purchased. I purchased it because it had the most unbelievable finish and I had never seen a Tokoname pot up close and thought this is how all pots from that region would look. Of course I was wrong and I would soon find out that the quality of his pots are what attract collectors of his wares the world over.

This mini drum pot is 4 inches in diameter and is 1.5 inches tall. I have planted in it in the past but have decided to retire it to the collection for the time being as I wait out the market on Bigei pots.

006

007

008

 

I aquired this small shohin pot 29 years ago when I started. I was very fortunate to hook up with someone that knew everyone in the state and where all the cool stuff was. I asked for a list of places I should go and one of them was to see George Yamaguchi of Yamaguchi bonsai in north Los Angelas. A Japanese area in the North West of the city, much like the area where Chikugo-En is, which was another place on the list.

Upon reaching the gardens I immediatly set out for the plants. I looked over everything and decided on a few. I came in to pay and found the pots. There was this pot that caught my eye. It is oval in shape  and 7 x 5 x .75. the clay is very coarse and has very large pebbles in it that show up white on the photo’s. The pot is hand made, but has no chop. I know it is 29 years old but how much before that I have no idea.

005

005 (2)

 

I bought this small accent tray about ten years ago. At the time I was very interested in making the moss balls as accents. I still want to do a formal display using one but have not had the chance to try it. This year at the Kazari may be the right time. Who knows?

The pot is 5.5 inches in diameter and .75 inches tall. The glaze is streaked greys and very faint blues. The shape is a lotus blossom and the interior is combed. The potters name is Matsumoto Takashi from the Ryuugaku kiln.

010

011

012

 

Posted January 13, 2013 by California Bonsai Art in Spotlight on Pots

Tagged with , , ,

5 responses to “Special Pots

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just so you know, Bigei is a woman.

  2. No wonder they feel so good.

  3. Bigei is not a woman. The poor fellow seems to have undergone some kind of sex reassessment as his pots moved to the west. Of that’s the case, I think the male pattern baldness is a bit over the top.

Leave a Reply

