Clump Style   6 comments

So….by now you are wondering what happened to the 5 cuttings I had left over. Well I did not really have anything in mind for them so I decided to utilize them in a possible shohin clump style trident. I thought about the hole in the tile trick, planting them into old Mariah Carey CD’s and drilling holes in ceramic plates from the dollar store.

Jeesh….where can I find an old Mariah….dollar sto….oh forget it I will just use what I think should be used. I went to my junk pile and found a stack of clay pot water dishes that my wife used to have under the African Violets in the garden window in the kitchen. I have this diamond coated 1/4 bullnose bit I use to cut holes in tile for can lights and faucets when they are repaired. It went thru this soft clay pot like butter.

 

DSC_00010001

I hogged the hole to about 1/2 inch and set about feeding th five trident seedlings thru the hole.

DSC_00020002

since I got the great root growth I figured I would plant it up in a basket also. The basket is five gallon size cut down to about 4 inches tall and the clay saucer is about 6 inches across.

DSC_00030003

This is all the roots on the bottom of the saucer after feeding them thru.

DSC_00350001

These are all the trunks. They just fit. This planting should begin the layering process in about 45 days.

DSC_00360002

I did the ole Kyosuki Gun trick by filling the underside of the planting with soil first and then wetting it to stick and then inverting it into the pot. I did not want to have a void in the upside down saucer and this assures me I have it full of soil.

DSC_00370003

DSC_00380004

All planted up. Nothing to now but drink even more beer and wait for spring. I may be an alcoholic by the time the sun gets here.

DSC_00460001

Posted January 27, 2013 by California Bonsai Art in Trident Techniques

Tagged with ,

6 responses to “Clump Style

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks good Al! I have done this with trident seedlings. I usually take five and wrap them tight with florist tape and then wire them together with the top of each one becoming a branch. I will be unwrapping a few this spring.

  2. I don’t know about being an alcoholic by spring but you are a Tridentaholic. I wonder if you’re going to need a 12 step program for that soon. Maybe once the shakes and halucinations start……..if they haven’t already.

    Mary B. in Rio Linda
  3. Where can I get a diamond bit like that?? Mine are all dinky. . . .

  4. Reblogged this on Adam's Art and Bonsai Blog and commented:
    I think I shall try this soon

  5. Thanks Adam, The bases fuse and the flare above the pot gets really nice.

Leave a Reply

