Spring is here…finally!   5 comments

Nothing like the emergence of the spring growth from the doldrums of winter. This is the time of year that is most exciting. Been couped up in the house for what seems like a decade, and now is the time to take each tree up one notch. We need the rain, but I need some sun also. Be carefull what I wish for….

Check out all the snail bait on the bench top!

DSC_00080008

One of the pigs

DSC_00090009

Kiyohime Maple

DSC_00100010

Forsythia that I thought was lost to the squirrels. Found it under the benches in some plants. looked dead , but kept watering it and look now it blooms!

DSC_00110011

The new leaves of the toyo nishiki trident maple. Super slow grower. Verigated white and green.

DSC_00120012

Another of the three little pigs.

DSC_00150015

Ok..the third pig.

DSC_00170017

This trident is startimg to come back around after a ground layer and nearly losing it to over fertilization.

DSC_00180018

This is really a poor picture of this poor yaupon holly. There is so much going on up top it looks like a massive knot. It’s not really and when I get the wire off soon it will look way better.

DSC_00160016

I had to shoe horn this into this pot and was a little worried about it. As soon as I seen the new buds I was able to breathe a little easier.

DSC_00140014

The big cork bark elm from Steve is really pushing now. I will be wiring branches next month.

DSC_00280028

Husband and wife….

DSC_00270027

This is an update on tripper. After a wire job like I did to this tree, and since it has only gained back strength from my fertilization mishap of 2008, I was worried because California junipers have a bad habit of losing branches after a heavy wire. These green shoots at the tips tell me everything is A-OK and I can breathe a little on this tree as well.

DSC_00240024

DSC_00230023

Posted March 9, 2013 by California Bonsai Art in Uncategorized

5 responses to “Spring is here…finally!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like Magic! Thank you!

  2. Everything is looking really good. We just got another foot of snow, I think spring is still a bit off for us over here.

  3. Hey Al,
    Some mighty fine looking little pigs you got there. Some pretty big scars to heal though. Do you think these will take longer to heal being in their final pots already?

    • Oh yea…they will take much longer to heal in thses small pots than they would in the ground. When I started them ten years ago this year, I had no idea how to do this. I was just sort of working by the seat of my pants. I started building small branches probably too soon, and to use escape brnches now would make the tops all screwy. I would probably have huge bulges all over. Course I don’t know ehich is worse, big bulges or big scars. For now I’ll just wait them out.

      I have about $10.00 each in them when I bought them. I could sell any of them for over $400.00 so I know I will at least get my money back and even some for my time. Thats always good!

  4. I still think they’re pretty awesome Al…. I personally don’t have a major issue with scars if they’re hidden well from viewing angle for the purists…. I think they give a tree character and add interest.

Leave a Reply

