Working on the pine.   1 comment

My growing season is long. Very long, like ten months. All of the candles have been pruned and I have taken out some rather large areas of the canopy as well as removing the straight up portion of the apex. There are many shoots there to choose from to build an apex from and I thought the one there was too thick and in a bad place. there is already a very large bulb of wood there due to whorls of branching and so I need to make decisions this fall and cut out the stuff I don’t want.

 

Right now the tree will not be wired till fall. For now I have pulled down many branches with guy wires just to get the future positions set with new wood.

 

This is the tree with all the spring growth

 

DSC_00030001

DSC_00020002

DSC_00030003

DSC_00040004

DSC_00050005

Posted July 7, 2013 by California Bonsai Art in Styling Trees

One response to “Working on the pine.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this tree Al. I look forward to every update!

Leave a Reply

