OMG, seeds again?   4 comments

Well Sunday after the swapmeet I was able to get my seeds in for this year. I bought seed from a different company and hopefully the germination rate will be better. I planted 400 seeds this time, and I plant on making more of the tridents under screen this time. This year I have a new idea which I will share when ready and plan on keeping the seedlings confined much longer than this year. Recently on a discussion forum post I saw some trident all twisted up on growing cascade style from a stone. I will try to introduce a yamadori style method to these tridents and see what I get. Many of these will also be grown in a clump so that they intertwine and graft together to make a larger trunk sooner.

This year rather than grow these in turface and sand I decided to grow these in Black Gold brand cactus soil. It is a blend of pine bark and pumice about 50/50. The bark is pretty coarse and I am sure it would work as bonsai soil also. Pretty easy to get at any home depot.

It should be an interesting year all around.

2013

4 responses to “OMG, seeds again?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had excellent results with Turface this last year with elm cuttings vs drysweep, caladama, bonsai soil mix…Stunned at how well it worked.

    Have you had any reasonable results with turface as a soil for maples in the Fresno heat?

  2. Are you planning on wiring and twisting the seedlings for your “yamadori style method”?

  3. Nope, same method as last year except I will take them to the next level. Will just keep them under the screen for a longer period of time.

Leave a Reply

