Colander or Colonder?   2 comments

It must be Colonder because my Smart Ass Wife says I have my head up my ass and these will not work cause “these “pots” are full of holes and the soil will just fall out”.

Hah! just go back and take another nap and let me do the growing of trees. She is so helpful that way. I went back to the Super Asia Market and bought another load of baskets for all the projects I have with tridents this year.

The pink baskets I bought last week. This week I bought the larger ones and the smaller ones.

DSC_00900001

The green ones are 12″ x 3.5″, pink are 14″ x 5″, first blue is 18″ x 6″ and the big one is 23″ x 7″. I have no idea what I am going to put in the big ones yet. I think Frokensteen will go into the smaller of the two big ones.

DSC_00910002

I wish to talk about volume. A five gallon bucket filled to the brim holds 80 percent of a cubic foot. Most bagged soil amendments are sold by the cubic foot on the bag, sometimes it is in dry quarts or similar. The nursery container called a five gallon can at the nursery holds 3.5 gallons. It is pretty close to holding a half a cubic foot. The bucket holds my base mix, pumice and lava 50/50. To this I add the akadama. and sometimes huyga.

DSC_00920003

I put the large blue basket in my wheelbarrow and it barely fit. I poured in the contents of the bucket of mix and it came within two inches of the top leveled out.

DSC_00930004

DSC_00940005

On top of that I placed a bag of akadama. A bag of akadama contains half a cubic foot of material. I figure that this container will hold two bags of akadama easily, or about a cubic foot of soil. Thats a pretty big basket.

DSC_00950006

This is how much white space was left after pouring the bag of akadama into the bucket.

DSC_00960007

Oh I remember now. I know just what I am going to do with the big one. Savin that for a future super duper project.

Posted December 27, 2013 by California Bonsai Art in Repotting

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Colander or Colonder?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The pink colanders will go nicely with your thong Smoke 🙂

  2. al, will you be using any of these for any seedlings? are they going to be seperating them this year? whatever happened to using growstone? i dont have cheap access to pumice yet and was curious about your results with the product. I also found another seed vendor and will let you know how this place works this year. My results were like yours last year in germination: so so. keep doing what you do al , your a great teacher.
    painter

Leave a Reply

