California Juniper – Twin Trunk 2002   Leave a comment

This juniper was dug in Mojave in 2002. The tree had done very well producing new roots almost immediately. In and around 2004 the tree received its first wire. During this time the tree had its two apex jinned. A large shari was cut on the front of each trunk from a suitable jin on the trunk as an extension of a disaster some time in the past. Shortly after this period, with in a couple of years, I lost interest in the material. The shari’s of course looked too contrived, the jinned tops looked hokey and the whole thing was not to my liking. I could not realize my model for the tree. Maybe it was due to not enough branching, not enough foliage? I don’t know, but in the back yard it sat. For 10 years.

This is a cool shot of the mountain I got the tree from. This mountain is covered with juniper. Many are as large as a VW bus and larger, and some are as small as a bread box, but really hard to find.

001

This was the tree growing in the wild before digging. I knew it had a double trunk and was happy when I seen it.

002

As I began digging around the tree it was good to find some smaller roots at the soil surface. Roots like this can ensure 100% survival with good after care.

003

The root ball was prized up and out of the hole. A root ball like this with field soil will weigh close to 75 to 80 pounds due to the granite and clay.

004

The soil is knocked off the root ball and bare rooted. It is then packed with sopping wet long fiber moss and sealed in shrink-wrap.

005

006

The tree is planted into a wooden box I made before leaving for Mojave. It is planted in 3/8 black lava and sand.

007

In 2004 after some good growth I decided to prune it down. It was too tall and I decided to jin the tops of each trunk at this time.

008

008a

009

010

 

011

I wanted to pull the top left trunk more to the right so added this fulcrum and a guy wire.

  011a 

012

 

      013

It’s Thanksgiving 2014,  ten years later, and time for a new direction. The tree is pulled from the weeds and cleaned up for some new work. This is one of those trees that is sitting around and not earning its keep. Everyday since 2004 I water the tree, “did you look for a job today”? “Are you still looking for a job?” Nothing, the tree just sits there, taking my water and using my fertilizer and has given nothing back…wait, maybe it has.

The tree has rewarded me with long shoots to play with. It is very healthy and all adult foliage. There are many cones beginning to set on the tips of many of the branches.

014

Lots of the old wire is left on the tree from past work. A mixture of copper and aluminum still in the tree. Some had swelled over it but most was still OK.

 

 

017

In 2004 this was the apex of the tree and there was nothing green above it. Now everthing green is above the jin.

018

 

019

The real work starts be sawing off the branches not needed. The trunks are long and thin and tall. There is only one course for this tree…Literati

020

Now I am down to about as far as I wish to take it. I feel now that this is the new bones of the tree and anything I do will have to be made with whats left.

021

Here are couple close-ups of each canopy. These are what I will wire and style.

022

 

023

Here are some closeups of the shari’s. They are really nice now. Ten years have done them good. The live veins have swollen and made them look pretty natural. All of the shaggy bark has been removed exposing the red layers below. During removal of the bark I found black widows up the wazoo, beetles of some kind, potato bugs, earwigs and some slugs down low near the soil.

024

 

025

 

026

This is the work station all set up.

027

Wire, tools, and a chair…which I never sat in.

028

I started putting on the wire before I got tired and started running out of time. My wife called for me to mash the potatoes, now I know its time to eat. Screw bonsai I got a turkey to eat.

 

029

I will continue this saga on Saturday when I can resume my wire for the day……

Edit: I was not able to work on the tree right away and had to come back to it over the weekend and into Monday. I did finish it and this is what the first styling done in ten years brought forth.

DSC_00110001

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

