Throwback Thursday – Muranaka Bonsai   2 comments

I started bonsai in 1984 and my first trip to Muranaka Bonsai nursery was in 1986. I was amazed at the material there. Mind you I had no idea how to pick a piece of material but I had fun trying.

Some may ask, “Al, why do you show so many of your clunkers from years gone by?” That is a very good question. The answer is simple, it reminds me of where I came from. Many times I find myself stopping short lately on the keyboard when a newbie displays his first tree to turn into bonsai. I am quick to ask “why did you buy that?” I now know the answer because before this blog and Throwback Thursday, many of these pictures were on film, printed and in albums in a book-case with dust on them. Guess I need to dust the book-case. As I look back thru these albums for nuggets of humor to post I am amazed at some of the things I purchased in the name of good material.

So, with no fanfare, here are a couple of purchases from the year 1986, two years into my bonsai career. The trees couldn’t be more different. A nice Chinese quince and a Chinese elm. My wife and I of only two years were staying in a Hotel in Pismo Beach California. I was soaking in the sunset with my two new trees on the deck of the Hotel.

While the quince had some damn nice lines, I have no idea what happened on the choice of that elm. You will notice that the first thing I did when I got home was put it into a plastic bonsai pot….way cool.

quince0001

elm60003

Check out that ripped body and brown hair.

deck0001

You all have to know how much it pains me to share this photo. You couldn’t grow a more symmetrical root Wye if you wanted to.

elm50002

My wife refers to me as thumper…..lock up your women folk!

thumper0005

 

2 responses to “Throwback Thursday – Muranaka Bonsai

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Must have been a good trip back in ’86 🙂 Would love to see some then and now photo comparisons for any tress you got back then to see how they come out!

    • I do not have much of anything left from the eighties. I recently sold a large foemina juniper I had since about 1987 at the yard sale. In fact the pot it was in was from Kanami Muranaka. The tree was from someone else. I have tried to sell it at the last three yard sales, and it finally sold this year. I still have a large forest of Foeminas from 1987 that need massive amounts of work, but thats for another day.

Leave a Reply

