Realville gets a makeover   10 comments

This trident goes by the name Realville. Some day I wish to add small metal tags to the trees and number them so I know which ones are witch. Until that day I just name them. Not all of them have names but sooner or later something comes to me and it sticks. The name comes from the title of a blog post here I did a couple years ago. A search on the home page with “realville” should pull it up.

What I wish to do for this tree is shorten it up to maybe work as shohin. I think it will work but it will take a couple years to achieve. As it stands, the tree has a pretty good trunk and good taper. It has a terrible nebari and eventhough I tried to graft whips to the bottom, they failed and the base looks crappy still. I took the tree to a shohin study group I belong to hear and developed the plan.

So here is the measuring stick I made to measure at a glance the catagory a tree fits into. As we can see the tree is just about 1.5 inches too tall for shohin which is at the top of the orange portion.

 

a34

a38

I figure that if I layer the tree at the thickest part I can shorten the tree and put a better base on the tree in one throw.

a38a

Leaves fell off and the line is marked at the study group.

a39

a41

So today I carve a groove all the way around the base of the trunk at the line.

DSC_00130013

A large piece of wire is tied around the trunk. The wire is pounded into the trunk tissue and alloed to follow all the curves and indentions.

DSC_00140014

Once the wire is affixed a collar is made of plastic canvas for holding the soil.

DSC_00150015

A little bit about the soil. This is a bag of akadama I picked up several years ago…maybe about seven. I had no idea what it was that I had. When I opened it I was kinda like …”what the hell is this “.

DSC_00160016

The akadama is in round balls. Perfectly round balls. No broken edges, no rough sides, just smooth round balls. It is soft, very soft, and absorbs water like no bodies business. I mean it holds a lot of water. What’s really good about it is that being round, one can see in the picture all the shadows. It is about 60/40, akadama/air. It never compacts and allows perfect air exchange. This stuff grows roots so fast even I am shocked. No hormone here. I have used this on my large trident after the squirrels ate the nebari off and I had roots with this stuff in a collar like this in a few weeks. I have used this medium for all my layers thru the years and am on the look out for a bag to replace this one with. I have about 25% left. I’ll be back in 60 days and brush away some particles and we’ll see what we have.

DSC_00170017

 

10 responses to “Realville gets a makeover

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you ever have trouble with the groove being that narrow and the callus overgrowing it? Or does the wire stop that from happening?

    • Well….thats the plan. I do not have enough room to really peel a good one inch or so strip because of the roots being so close to where I wish the new roots to grow. On a trident just piling dirt up on the trunk and keeping it wet will produce roots very quickly, I just hope that the roots will form in the best place and I am hoping the wire and wound will do that. It won’t take long, we will both know in a month or two.

  2. Reblogged this on Bindi Bonsai.

  3. So in a perfect situation, you’d make the groove wider, and a wire would not be used? I have one that I’m going to do this year, but have more room to work than you do.

  4. I enjoy the blog!

    Here in Portland, OR, we have Akadama too but we prefer pumice for rooty stuff like this. Pumice grows amazing roots.

  5. In the close up of the wire tourniquet I appear that you cut below a section of overhanging trunk.

    Did you cut a ring under that? Would it be better to cut the ring against the side or am I just not seeing it at that angle?

    • In my haste to repot I did not take a picture of the groove before the wire. After noticing I had no picture I pulled the wire from the groove a little to show the groove the wire is in. Plier marks can be seen on the wire from me digging the wire out of the groove and hammering it into the groove. Yes the trench/groove is cut all the way around the trunk base. In the shot you provided, the twisted portion of the wire is over an area that has some squirrel damage and the bark chewed off. No roots will issue in that area due to not having any live tissue above it. In a perfect world I would wait until it would be healed all the way around before doing this. I don’t have that kind of time.

  6. very soft but doesn’t compact? Stays soft and holds it’s shape? Really? Intertesting.

Leave a Reply

