Al Keppler Signature Stick   5 comments

Many years ago a friend, Ray Thieme gave me a stick for repotting. I had just come back from my honeymoon of driving the California coast. We got Married in Reno and traveled west. We spent the night in Santa Cruz and the next morning looked over the town. I was still a baby of just 28 years old and my new wife, 12 years my senior showed me the town. She took me to San Lorenzo Lumber to see Begonia’s. I found bonsai. Found them, and was intrigued by them. I bought one and we spent the rest of our trip up the Ca. coast with the tree and my new bonzo book. Upon arriving home and and checking the yellow pages I found that indeed there was a bonzo nursery. 41 Bonsai Nursery owned by Ray Thieme. I met him and he showed me around the place. I bought a couple junipers from him, (I still have them) and he told me about a bonsai club, The Fresno Bonsai Society, he said I should join and learn about bonsai. I did, that was 36 years ago.

After about four months, and finding myself at the nursery every weekend, Ray gave me this stick. It is made of very heavy bamboo, and has repotted every tree since 1984, hundreds and hundreds. I have never forgotten where it came from, and it was given to me out of friendship. It’s just a stick, but to me it’s much more, it’s a reminder of friendship from a man now gone, but not forgotten.

Now many years later and I too have made sticks for many years. The first ones I was making were basically a jazzed up chop stick. Laminated and thicker than a chop stick and about 12 inches long. It was good used as a chop stick but that’s about it.

About 20 years ago I started making these. Much larger and only ten inches long. I have made a dozen or so at a time and take them to conventions and the Shohin seminar. They start out as about 3/4 sq wood scraps from stand building. The woods range from black walnut, english walnut, padauk, lace wood, cherry and mahogany. I start by thinning the stick one way. Ok I was drunk, the sander will fix that…..don’t worry.

Then I quarter turn it and sharpen it the other way, but much more shallow. This is done on the band saw and the blade wanders in the hard wood. I could switch to a thicker wider blade that don’t flex but I’m lazy, OK there I said it.

This is about what it looks like before sanding.

I have a large bench sander not in the picture but it will give you a really short manicure in about 4.6 seconds. Those in the front are the raw sticks and those stacked on the green lid are cut to be sanded. My garage is full of saw dust for the ones I made to take to Shohin. These are the ones I made for the meeting. The orange sawdust is from the African Padauk it’s bad but not as bad as Bocotte or Cocobolo. That became a trip to the hospital.

I’m allergic to the sawdust from the ones made of wood from Africa or Austrailia. I have no antibodies because the trees don’t grow here. My eyes puff up, water and I itch everywhere.

At the Shohin Seminar I ran into lots of friends I hadn’t seen for many years. I haven’t made these sticks for ten years. Just to many medical things going on in my life and no time for things I like to do. In this case Adair Martin from Georgia is choosing the one he wants from the stash.

These things are real Dracula Daggers and if your lucky, you might just win one at the meeting tomorrow! These things can tear up a root ball in no time, and they will pry a stubborn trees out of a pot, I have many times.

Posted February 7, 2020 by California Bonsai Art in Repotting

Tagged with ,

5 responses to “Al Keppler Signature Stick

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Al for your presentation at the club meeting. Such a ton of information in such a short period of time. I could have asked many questions and listened to you for another hour but time restraint kept my flapper closed. Hey I got your cherry, stick that is, and will always remember who was kind enough to make and share with some Bonsai Nuts. I’m sure Ray was with us today, at least with me, garnishing a warm glow in our hearts of those he touched.

    Like

  2. Al the photo you took of Ray that day in the Shinzen Garden is a great photo. The photo shows Ray Thieme and in the foreground directly behind Ray’s head is Genaro Cuan, back to the camera, June Tran Nguy, at her vendor table, David Nguy, back to the camera, and Tim Robinson, myself in shorts and vest. I remember that day.

    Like

    • Ray was already beginning to slow down a lot during this time. I think this photo was from his auction of his trees. It had to be a sad day to let them go, all the while knowing he could no longer lift them nor repot them. At this point it’s a young mans game and he did have the help he needed. I remember this day when I came, and had my own wife at home dieing. This was from April 2016, and my wife would die a year later. We had already received the news that there was not much more they could do and she lived on steroids for the remainder of her life. We talked that day, Ray knew, and I knew…we had a good run.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Al,
    I enjoyed reading this post, about a stick it got me thinking for sure. I thought how nice it would be to have a friend or even better yet friends that shared the love of bonsai like myself, I have friends yes, but none that give a crap about bonsai. I live in a rural very small town in Utah and have yet to meet someone in my life circle which give a shit about my small trees in pots, LOL but I love my hobby none the less.and talk about my trees all the time hoping someday to come across somebody near to me that gets it and wants to practice this art as much as I do.
    Perhaps someday I would give them a tool or a stick maybe a cutting and they would cherish and use it for 36 years.
    Just hoping to someday have a friend near me that shares this passion and interest as you have found.
    Good stuff, Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the note. I try to give back as much as I can, from donating stands to convention raffles to donating stands for demo’s at other clubs. I have given away over 50 of those sticks thru the years and now making more again. I have made many cuttings this year and who knows, I may be passing out some cool trees soon.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment